Yokohama World Time Attack Challenge 2019 WINNERS!

October 20, 2019

Yokohama World Time Attack Challenge 2019 WINNERS!

Yokohama World Time Attack Challenge 2019 has been run and won!

It was another huge show at Sydney Motorsport Park for WTAC’s 10th year. We have a new champion and a new quickest ever WTAC lap record!

Superlap Shootout took place in testing conditions, with a strong headwind and scattered showers giving all competitors an extra degree of difficulty as they pushed to find time over one last flying lap.

Barton Mawer stepped out of the RP968 Porsche 968 following a fraught last gasp effort, which saw him dip into the 1:19s again but ultimately fall short of extending his Pro Class lap record.

“I was finally flat through turn one, so I was certainly hopeful to go quicker, and we wound up everything to do it, but the conditions weren’t really there. Still, we’re very happy to win,” he said.

“When Rod [Pobestek] had the vision [for RP968] initially, the idea was to break the outright [track] record. Some people scoffed, but we’re so close now! It’s a credit to Australian engineering. We really can do some good work here.”

Congratulations to all competitors, and especially to the podium finishers in each class.


1. Barton Mawer – 1:19.277 – RP968 Porsche 968
2. Andre Heimgartner – 1:21.867 – MCA Hammerhead Nissan S13 Silvia
3. Garth Walden – 1:23.856 – Tilton Racing Mitsubishi Evo